Open Call: The Caine Prize for African Writing 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Caine Prize for African Writing has announced the open call for submissions for the 2024 prize. The prize is a £10,000 cash prize awarded to the best short story by an African writer, and additional awards of £500 each to four shortlisted writers. Past winners of the prize include Helon Habila (Nigeria), Binyavanga Wainaina (Kenya), and Meron Hadero (Ethiopia). The 2023 edition was jointly won by Senegalese authors Mame Bougouma Diene and Woppa Diallo.

2023 Shortlisted Writers: (L-R) Yvonne Kusiima (Uganda), Tlotlo Tsamaase (Botswana), Mame Bougouma Diene & Woppa Diallo (Senegal), Yejide Kilanko (Nigeria), Ekemini Pius (Nigeria).


  • The story must have been published in the five years preceding the submissions deadline. For 2024 eligibility, the judges will only consider work published between 1st April 2019 and 25th March 2024.
  • Entries must be more than 3,000 words or less than 10,000 words.
  • Entries must be submitted by a publisher. This includes publishers of physical and digital books, literary journals, magazines, and arts oriented websites.
  • Writers must be over 18 years of age at the time of submission.
  • Self-published and unpublished short stories are not eligible.
  • Publishers are encouraged to submit multiple short stories as long as they do not submit more than one story by the same author.
  • Stories may only be entered for consideration for The Caine Prize for African Writing once. Unfortunately, this means that you may not re-submit a story for consideration, even if it was not selected for the shortlist.
  • Genres not eligible for entry include: novels, children’s stories, factual writing, academic essays, plays, poetry, autobiography/biography, and any work that does not constitute a fictional short story.
  • Submissions must specify which African country the author comes from and the short story word count.
  • Publishers are required to upload a ‘publisher’s letter’ with each submission. See below for more information:

What should the publisher’s letter include? 
Publishers are required to provide: 

  • Name of the writer(s).
  • Title of the story or stories being submitted.
  • Word count of each submitted story.
  • The qualifying nationality of the writer(s).
  •  The date of publication of the story or stories. 
  • Confirmation of consent from the writer(s) whose stories are being submitted for the Prize.
  • Each story must be submitted by the publisher via email ([email protected]) as a PDF attachment or via a link to the story (if it has been published online).
  • Please ensure ‘The Caine Prize for African Writing Entry for 2024’ appears in the subject matter of your email.

Submission deadline: March 31, 2024.
Read more here.

Lake Adedamola is a poet, writer, and editor with Nantygreens, who's worked with several other literary blogs including Brittle Paper. He has, since 2018, served in various capacities on the Lagos International Poetry Festival, LIPFest, team.

Share Your Thoughts